citron&lovely

creative projects for life's celebrations

Embellished Canvas Totes [Birthday for Her]

Leave a comment

Earlier this summer I was looking for a little extra something for some birthday gifts I was creating for some special ladies. I saw some cute tote bags at Rock Paper Scissors in downtown Ann Arbor and thought that I’d try making my own.

I picked up a set of medium canvas tote bags from Michaels. Then I thought about what images in my Silhouette library would look best and decided on a leaf wreath for “I’d Rather Be Up North” and a floral print for “Be Cheerful”. I expanded both images to be as big as possible for a 12×12 sheet of vinyl, and picked my favorite script fonts for the phrases for each bag. Then, with a simple peel and stick, I used the vinyl cutouts as stencils for the canvas totes.

Now to think about what designs will be next…

 

Chime in

